<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Blackboard Patents in Australia</title>
	<atom:link href="http://blackfate.edublogs.org/2006/08/02/blackboard-patents-in-australia/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://blackfate.edublogs.org/2006/08/02/blackboard-patents-in-australia/</link>
	<description>All your LMSes belong to Blackboard(TM) Inc (R)...</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Thu, 31 Aug 2006 14:36:20 -0400</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.2</generator>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
		<item>
		<title>By: Roger Atkinson</title>
		<link>http://blackfate.edublogs.org/2006/08/02/blackboard-patents-in-australia/comment-page-1/#comment-6</link>
		<dc:creator>Roger Atkinson</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Mon, 07 Aug 2006 09:07:07 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://blackfate.edublogs.org/2006/08/02/blackboard-patents-in-australia/#comment-6</guid>
		<description>Like quite a few others, I&#039;ve been visiting IP Australia&#039;s site to check on BB&#039;s Australian activities. Right now I&#039;m trying to understand what is meant by the &#039;status&#039; of an application for an Australian patent. All 5 of BB&#039;s filings in Australia have status &#039;filed&#039;. Not &#039;sealed&#039; or whatever term is used for a patent that has been granted. Just &#039;filed&#039;. I suspect that BB&#039;s website http://www.blackboard.com/patent/patentpress.htm contains an error when it claims that Australian patents have been granted.

Interestingly, under Australian law, &quot;It is an offence to falsely represent that an article is patented or the subject of a patent in Australia&quot; (research in progress - are such breaches, should they be occurring, a civil or a criminal matter? Refer p.9, http://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/pdfs/patents/patentsguide.pdf). Has
Blackboard breached an Australian law, with that breach, if occurring, potentially having criminal implications, in contrast to civil implications?</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Like quite a few others, I&#8217;ve been visiting IP Australia&#8217;s site to check on BB&#8217;s Australian activities. Right now I&#8217;m trying to understand what is meant by the &#8217;status&#8217; of an application for an Australian patent. All 5 of BB&#8217;s filings in Australia have status &#8216;filed&#8217;. Not &#8217;sealed&#8217; or whatever term is used for a patent that has been granted. Just &#8216;filed&#8217;. I suspect that BB&#8217;s website <a href="http://www.blackboard.com/patent/patentpress.htm" rel="nofollow">http://www.blackboard.com/patent/patentpress.htm</a> contains an error when it claims that Australian patents have been granted.</p>
<p>Interestingly, under Australian law, &#8220;It is an offence to falsely represent that an article is patented or the subject of a patent in Australia&#8221; (research in progress &#8211; are such breaches, should they be occurring, a civil or a criminal matter? Refer p.9, <a href="http://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/pdfs/patents/patentsguide.pdf)" rel="nofollow">http://www.ipaustralia.gov.au/pdfs/patents/patentsguide.pdf)</a>. Has<br />
Blackboard breached an Australian law, with that breach, if occurring, potentially having criminal implications, in contrast to civil implications?</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>
